Agricultural/Forestal Rural Preservation Committee


The committee advises the Planning Commission and Board of Supervisors on matters related to Agricultural and Forestal Districts within the county. The committee also identifies, researches and promotes programs and projects to preserve the rural character of Louisa County. Click on the link for a AFD Program Brochure. Here is also a Frequently Asked Questions document.

For the districts, the committee shall render expert advice as to the nature of farming and forestry and agricultural and forestal resources within the district and their relation to the entire locality.


Members meet the fourth Wednesday of each month at 7 p.m.

Louisa County Office Building, 1 Woolfolk Ave, Louisa, VA 23093


The committee shall consist of four landowners who are engaged in agricultural or forestal production, four other landowners of the locality, the Commissioner of the Revenue, and a member of the local governing body. The members of the committee shall be appointed by and serve at the pleasure of the local governing body.

Terms are indefinite.

Louisa County Agricultural and Forestal Districts

To get a closer look at the districts, click the map below to open Louisa’s GIS maps. Click "I agree", then "Layers" on the far right side of your screen. Finally, check the Louisa AFD box in the layers menu, then zoom in.

AgForestal Opens in new window


Downloads & Forms

Agricultural and Forestal District Application

AFD Program Brochure



  • Jim Riddell - Chair
  • David Stone - Vice Chair
  • Selene Deike
  • Steve Hopkins
  • Dustin Madison
  • Doug Campbell
  • James Kean
  • Billy Wayson
  • Charles Rosson, Extension Office Representative 
  • Stacey Fletcher, Commissioner of the Revenue
  • R.T. Williams, Jr.      Board Representative 12/31/24