Keeping Rural Areas Rural

Designated Growth Areas

The 2040 Plan repeatedly emphasizes using growth areas to manage growth. The growth areas will allow for responsible growth while keeping rural areas rural. The designated growth areas are:

  1. Town of Louisa 
  2. Town of Mineral 
  3. Zion Crossroads 
  4. Ferncliff
  5. Gordonsville 
  6. Shannon Hill 
  7. Gum Springs 
  8. Lake Anna

Many of the designated growth areas have a close proximity to the interstate. Not only is this intended to fulfill business needs, but is intended to largely reduce thru traffic in the County. The map below provides a quick visual that the majority of our 514-acre county will remain rural in nature.


The Agricultural & Forestal District Program

Louisa County is committed to working through the Agricultural & Forestal District Program to preserve the rural and agricultural integrity and character of the County.